Dave Chase's Giveback

My wife and I financially support and work with a deaf school in Puerto Rico. The name of the school is the Evangelical School for the Deaf in Luquillo, PR and they work mostly with deaf children from the mountains (ages range from 5 to seniors in High School). It is a small school that relies on private donations from individuals or church groups but they do an incredible work.

My father was career Navy and when I was a kid we lived in Puerto Rico for a few years. During that time my parents were involved with the school and that’s how I came to be involved as well.

We are heading down to the island November 2 – 12 for a week of service at the school. We’ll be cooking for the students (lunches mostly) and helping out with other projects around the facilities. I’m pretty emotional (especially with these kids) so my first day will be hugging kids and shedding some tears and my last day will be much of the same.