Helping Low-Income Individuals Find Economic Self-Sufficiency

Career Collaborative is a Boston-based non-profit that provides coaching and support for the working poor looking to find and get new ‘career-oriented’ jobs with the right pay to support themselves and their families. Career Collaborative’s programs include a four-week job-search/job-readiness class, complete with practice job interviews performed each Friday morning.

Last Friday, I responded to organization’s call for practice interviewer volunteers. It was a great experience – I role-played a job interview (complete with my own fake office!) for five of the program participants, and then provided feedback to each on how they came across in the interview and what they did well and not so well. All five of the participants are currently in minimum wage style jobs but are excited and motivated to find something better. Many are recent immigrants with great potential who just don’t know the in’s & out’s of an American job search. I only met with the participants for about 30 minutes each, but they are inspiring individuals – I really want to see them succeed! Hopefully I helped them a little bit on their way…

It was definitely a rewarding experience, and I’ve already signed up for two more practice interview sessions early next year.

The attached pic is me and a couple of the other interview volunteers.

Obligatory plug: if you would like to learn more about Career Collaborative, check out their website: careercollaborative.org

John Nikula

Senior Manager, Custom Education