I Taught a Self-Defense Class

On 1/14/15 I taught a free self-defense class to the residents of our 500 home community.  I was required first to get approval by making a presentation to HOA board and make available my certification as a 2nd degree black belt and instructor.

The purpose of the class was twofold – I wanted to help people:  1.) To avoid becoming a target of an attack; and 2.) To teach practical techniques if they were attacked.  These techniques included how to get out of grabs and holds along with basic strikes.  I taught the class alternating between lecturing and teaching the practical techniques.  The class was held in our community clubhouse  at 7pm with 10 students attending.  The students said that they found the class not only very helpful, but also enjoyable and wanted to know when the next class was going to be held.  I’m the one kneeling in front in the group shot.

Richard Wade | Sr. Workforce Solutions Consultant, OnDemand | Kronos Incorporated