Metropolitan Ministries in Tampa, Florida


From Andrew Campagna

I thought I’d let you know what I’ve been doing at Metropolitan Ministries here in Tampa over the past five or six weeks to give back to those far less fortunate than my wife and I.

Metropolitan Ministries, an organization we have supported financially every year we’ve lived in Tampa,  helps the poor in many ways.  Metropolitan Ministries not only provides shelter, clothing and food to those in need, but also helps disadvantaged young people by providing middle and high school level education through which they have a better chance to become financially independent.

The GED program which Metropolitan Ministries runs has been very successful in that regard, and I have been volunteering three hours per week, every Tuesday, tutoring disadvantaged kids in math and reading skills in order to prepare them for the GED exam. 

Believe me, it’s been challenging given that many of these kids don’t even have the most basic  math and reading skills.  That said, it’s been very rewarding for me to see progress already being made with a couple of the kids I have worked with, and, as you know, it’s just great to give back.