Sheree Bowen Helps Underprivileged Kids Be Super Prepared for the Start of School

Sheree Bowen , representing Service Business Development, built backpacks for under-privileged children.  “As a mother of two children, I never enjoyed shopping for school supplies but since I was shopping for those in need, it made all the difference in the world. As summer days were narrowing so did our timeframe for getting the supplies gathered and packed.  So, over the weekend, I invited the volunteers to my home for some food and beverage as we put student and teacher supplies into 20-plus cute red bags.  Some of the ladies were unable to attend the evening event due to a much needed flash-flooding in Texas but that didn’t stop all! I was truly impressed that several of the ladies not only showed up with umbrellas in tow but they brought with them a number of supplies! The ladies from the group really embraced the idea and I was excited that Kronos hours were available to me.  While the evening event that occurred at my home was on my time, I was able to use Kronos hours to attend the luncheon, shop for supplies and later…deliver the bags to the two designated schools (one of which is in a district where 90% of students are at poverty level).  I appreciate the company time that enabled me to share my passion for volunteering and truly participate (not just coordinate) in a rewarding event!”